caption freeform

Human Relations Commission

  • 6:00 PM
  • City Hall 
    1707 St. Johns Ave.
    Highland Park, IL 60035
  • For more information, please contact staff liaison Laura Frey at 847.432.4110 or at
  • Ellen Gussin, Chair - Term expires 2020
  • Cheryl Levi, Vice Chair - Term expires 2019 
  • Sandra Figueroa Bast - Term expires 2020*   
  • Janet Bernstein - Term expires 2019                 
  • Amy Gudgeon - Term expires 2020*   
  • Nagawa Kakumba - Term expires 2020*    
  • Joan Zahnle, expires 2020*      
  • Alyssa Knobel, City Council Liaison
  • Terry Grossberg, PDHP liaison
  • Yumi Ross, NSSD 112 Liaison
  • Gayle Byck, School District 113 Liaison
  • Gail Brown, Moraine Township Representative  
  • A. J. Holzer and Peter Vena-Pedersen, Student Representatives through 6/2019          
  • Laura Frey, Staff Liaison
HRC POS Grant Program
Highland Park Awards 
Martin Luther King Day of Service



*May be re-appointed to an additional four-year term.

The Human Relations Commission consists of seven members, all of whom are appointed by the Mayor with the approval of the City Council. 

The Human Relations Commission was created in 1964 to implement and effectuate the policies, regulations and directives of the City Council as follows: 
  • In the promotion of the American ideal of equality and justice
  • In furthering understanding between people
  • In encouraging and facilitating wise adjustment to social problems and opportunities
  • In studying the nature and causes of prejudices and making recommendations for improvements    

For more information, please contact Laura Frey, staff liaison to the Human Relations Commission, at 847.432.4110 or by