caption freeform

Transportation Commission

  • 6:30 PM
  • Fourth Wednesday of each month
  • City Hall 
    1707 St. Johns Ave.
    Highland Park, IL 60035
  • Leonard Xavier, Chair - Term expires 2019
  • Charles Bergen, Vice Chair - Term expires 2020
  • Matthew Arbit - Term expires 2019*
  • Andrew Bloom - Term expires 2020*
  • Richard Heineman - Term expires 2019*
  • Peggy Laemle - Term expires 2019
  • Bruce Mainzer - Term expires 2019*

* May be reappointed to an additional four-year term.

  • Ashley Yew, Student Representative through 6/2019
  • Kim Stone, City Council Liaison
  • Chris O'Neill, Police Department Liaison
  • Emmanuel Gomez, P.E., City Engineer
  • Ron Milanesio, Public Works Staff Liaison

The commission has seven Voting Members and two Non-Voting Ex Officio Members including the City Manager, Chief of Police or designated representatives. 

The Highland Park Transportation Commission is charged with oversight and safety issues relative to Highland Park's streets and makes recommendations to the City Council to improve conditions that relate to traffic safety. The commission welcomes input from all residents about traffic concerns or where and how you think street safety can be improved.

The Transportation Commission is in the process of reviewing the regulations for the registration and use of bicycles in the City with the possibility of making a recommendation to the City Council to amend Chapter 75 of the City Code.

For more information, please contact Ron Milanesio, staff liaison to the Transportation Commission, at 847.926.1183 or via email.

The Highland Park Bike Walk Advisory Group
The Highland Park Bike Walk Advisory Group (BWAG) is affiliated with the city Transportation Committee and focuses on increasing the viability and safety of non-automotive travel. BWAG pursues activities and initiatives aligned to the Highland Park Bike Walk HP 2030 Plan and the League of American Bicyclists' "Bike-Friendly City" program. 

Recent efforts include: 

  • encouraging students to use more "active” means to get to and from school through "Bike to School Day” in conjunction with Highland Park School District 112
  • promoting road sharing between cars and bikes through new signage and markings on bike routes (part of the Bike Walk HP 2030 Plan)
  • providing a safe, fun bike route within our communities through a Family-Friendly Bikeway project in the Highlands neighborhood

All of our activities are designed to support a thriving, healthy, safe, and sustainable community in Highland Park.