caption freeform

Humanitarian Award

Highland Park Humanitarian Award
The Highland Park Human Relations Commission has established the "Highland Park Humanitarian" award to recognize an individual who has rendered outstanding service to the Highland Park community, outside of his/her paid work environment. Any person who has a record of sustained giving and has, through his/her efforts made a significant contribution to changing lives in the Highland Park Community may be nominated. Areas of service may include but are not limited to: education, charitable work, philanthropy, environmental advocacy, public policy, and serving senior citizens, youth, the disabled, and underprivileged. Nominations should include (but are not limited to): agency(s) where the work/volunteerism was accomplished, dates of service, description of work, titles held, recipients of service, and personal attributes. 

Please address the scope and significance of the community activities of the nominee, and identify as many of your nominee's activities as possible. Nominations are to be accompanied with letter(s) of support from an organization or business with which the nominee is affiliated.

The City of Highland Park Human Relations Commission reviews all nominations, verifies information, and submits a recommendation to the Mayor and City Council for final approval. Recipient selected to receive a Humanitarian Award will be invited to an awards ceremony at the Highland Park High School, 433 Vine Ave, on Wednesday, April 25, 2018.

Application Deadline: Monday, March 12, 2018. 

2018 Humanitarian Nomination Application

Past recipients of this award include the following:

  • James Styer - 2017
  • Alicia De La Cruz - 2016
  • The Jordan Michael Filler Foundation - 2015
  • Aliza Gilbert - 2015 
  • Anne Flanigan Bassi - 2014
  • Carol Spielman - 2013
  • Shelley Kreiter-Solow - 2012
  • Charlotte Landsman - 2009
  • Michael D. Belsky - 2008
  • Suzanne Greenwald - 2007
  • Elizabeth Lassar - 2007
  • Peter Koukos - 2006
  • Robert Buhai - 2005
  • Jack B. Blane - 2004
  • Bruno Bertucci - 2003
  • Karen Hamity-Kolman - Posthumous Recipient in 2003
  • Holly Kerr - 2001
  • Marilyn Straus - 2000
  • Jerry Rudman - 1999
  • Ruth Buhai - 1998
  • Grace Mary Stern - 1997
  • Janet Freund - 1996
  • Len Abrahamson - Posthumous Recipient in 1996

More Information
For more information, please contact Laura Frey at 847.432.4110 or via e-mail at